You can search The CAT by entering book titles or authors' names. Authors' names should be entered last name first and titles should be entered without the initial article (the, a, an...). Subject Headings: Women--China--History; China--History--Sources
Lists records on all subjects, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asian published worldwide; Bibliographic records primarily in western languages.
The on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
12 English-language periodicals produced in China.
12 English-language periodicals produced in China. Longer-running publications include the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder(1868-1941) and the China Weekly Review (1923-1950). There are also shorter runs of; Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953),China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and ads.
Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies is a multi- and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines, developed mainly from two sources: First, a long-standing tradition of Sinology, still strong in Europe, has used philological and literary tools to study mainly the humanities and pre-modern China. Second, from the Second World War, an “area studies” approach has focused on modern China using interdisciplinary methods.
Provides a convenient single search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including some books and articles. It does not include all the library's content, so use it as a supplement to library searching, not a replacement.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Covers articles in journals of world history from 1450 to present.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books. App information
Published in Tokyo by Japanese publishers, Japan Times is the oldest English language newspaper in Japan and was for many years the only foreign-language newspaper in Japan. The digital archive includes full-text back to 1897 including title changes over the years; Japan Times and Mail, Japan Times and Advertiser, Japan Advertiser, and Nippon Times.
Full-text and full-image archive of journals in humanities and social sciences disciplines; Content excludes the most recent three to five years.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
State, regional, national and international photos
An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. The Photo Archive's historical collection continues to grow, featuring images from significant news and features events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available is a photograph of Abraham Lincoln taken in 1844. Permitted uses of these images include: 1. printing copies for educational and research use; 2. creating PowerPoint presentations, slides, and multimedia presentations when usage is confined to the licensed institution; 3. posting on a secure web site available only to authorized users; 4.e-mailing single images to an individual e-mail recipient.
digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements.
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Full-text of scholarly journals, including many key history journals.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.