Skip to main content

Special Collections: Penn State University Archives

This guide provides an overview of what comprises the University Archives, as well as tips for how to search for materials about the history of the University.

What does the University Archives Collect?

Portrait of former PSU President Evan Pugh at age 28.

Portrait of Evan Pugh, age 28. Eberly Family Special Collections Library.

The Penn State University Archives is a collecting unit within the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. The University Archives is dedicated to documenting the history of Penn State.

The University Archives holds a variety of records relating to the life of the University. Formats in our collections include paper records, digital records, books, film, video, audio recordings, photographs, architectural plans, maps, scrapbooks, and even some artifacts.To give you an idea of the wide range of materials that the Archives contains, here's a quick listing:

  • Records of academic units, for example, the Chemistry Department
  • Records of administrative units, for example, the Board of Trustees
  • Athletics records 
  • Papers of alumni, faculty and university presidents
  • Records of internal organizations like the faculty club
  • Records of student organizations like fraternities and sororities and other student groups
  • Records of Commonwealth Campuses
  • Records of university events, like commencements and concerts

Creative Commons Image Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a creative commons attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions