Library Guides: ENGL 202C: Effective Writing: Technical Writing: Choosing a Topic for Your Proposal

Choosing a Topic: Magazines

Magazines can spark ideas for research topics. Here are some you can read for free online or through the library:

Aerospace America
ASEE Prism
Published by the American Society for Engineering Education.
Automotive Engineering
A free online magazine by the Society of Automotive Engineers.
Automotive Engineering International
The Biologist
Published by the Royal Society of Biology.
Civil Engineering Magazine
Concrete Construction
CSEye
A magazine by the Chartered Society of Forensic Sciences.
Current Biology
Design News
Engineering and Technology
Published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
IEEE Spectrum
Provides international coverage of all technical issues and advances in computers, communications, and electronics.
Mathematics Magazine
Mechanical Engineering
The official magazine of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Popular Mechanics
Focuses on the "hows" of technology.
Popular Science
News about science and technology.
Science News Subject Guide
Penn State librarians' web site for up-to-the-minute science news.
Scientific American
Covers all areas of science, not just engineering.
SWE Magazine
From the Society of Women Engineers.
XRDS
Published by the Association for Computing Machinery, this magazine is specifically geared toward students.

Choosing a Topic: Databases

In addition to providing basic information, these databases and web sites have tools that enable you to brainstorm ideas.

Wikipedia
Not a quotable resource for most assignments. But Wikipedia can help you identify keywords, narrow your topic, and explore related topics.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Click on "browse topics" to explore ideas. Each report typically includes background information, pro/con essays, and other resources.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews. CQ Global Researcher (formerly a stand alone DB) content was merged into CQ Researcher.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Provides brief encyclopedia articles.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Click on "browse issues" for hundreds of topic ideas. Also provides persuasive essays, news articles, and other resources for each topic.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Similar to Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher, but looks at social issues outside of the United States.
Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women's studies, and human rights. Updated daily.

JSTOR Daily
Commentary on current events that are popular in scholarly journals.

Penn State University Libraries

ENGL 202C: Effective Writing: Technical Writing

STEM Librarian

Choosing a Topic: Magazines

Choosing a Topic: Databases