Library Guides: EE 405/406: Electrical Engineering Capstone: Finding Codes and Standards

Finding EE Codes and Code Guidance

National Electrical Code by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
Call Number: REF TK260 .N38
ISBN: 1455912778
NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC) sets the foundation for electrical safety in residential, commercial, and industrial settings. The 2017 edition presents the latest comprehensive regulations for electrical wiring, overcurrent protection, grounding, and installation of equipment.
National Electrical Safety Code by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781504420037
Publication Date: 2017
Covers supply and communication lines, equipment, and associated work practices employed by a public or private electric supply, communications, railway, or similar utility in the exercise of its function as a utility.

Standards 101, by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM)
Helpful to read if you don't know what standards are. Provides background on how standards are developed, as well as answers to common questions.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
To find IEEE standards, choose the "Advanced Search," type in your topic, scroll down the page to "Content Type," and check off "Standards."
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The American Society of Testing Materials is the largest creator of standards in the U.S. Its database offers full text of all current ASTM standards as well as standards by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO).
Provides full-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards. Content on the ASTM Compass platform to which we do NOT have access: ASTM Videos, AATCC, API, AWS and AWWA. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.

IHS Standards
Store catalog that allows for searching of technical industry, government, and military standards citations.
Document Center
Search for standards citations by subject, industry sector, European regulation, or US government FSC code. Include over 500,000 standards from all disciplines and jurisdictions with a strength in medical devices.
Tech Street
Provides access to 500,000 international, national, state, and local industry codes and standards citations.
Society for Standards Professionals
Provides links to U.S. and internationals government, non-government, and commercial standards bodies.