STEM Librarian
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
Finding Books
Books are the bridge between your textbook and scholarly journal articles. They are usually your best resource for "the basics" -- an introduction, overview, and history of your topic. The quickest way to find books is to search the libraries book databases:
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new windowList of books, videos, and other items owned by Penn State.
- SpringerLink (full text journal articles and electronic books) This link opens in a new windowThe library's largest database for engineering e-books. If you only need a few resources and you're comfortable reading books online, start here. Although the titles in this database are also listed in the CAT, SpringerLink's search features are more user-friendly.
- Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new windowA large collection of engineering books, many dating from the 2010s. Although all of these titles are listed in the CAT, CRCnetBASE enables you to search the books' full text.
- Google Book SearchGoogle's search engine for books. Includes some partial and full text.
Another way to find books is to "browse" -- go to the library's book shelves and take a look.
At Penn State Harrisburg Library, Electrical Engineering books are in the "TK" section, on the 3rd floor. However, you may find additional items in the "QA" (Computer Science), "TA" (General Engineering), and "TJ" (Mechanical Engineering) areas, too.
If you are designing a component for a specific type of system, there may be additional areas of the library to explore. For example, information about electrical/electronic components for vehicles might be found in the "TL" (motor vehicles) area of the library. The "T" list within the Library of Congress Outline tells you which topics are shelved under which sections.
Some Recommended EE Handbooks
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers by Call Number: REF TK151.S8 2018ISBN: 9780071762328Publication Date: 2018-09-20For more than a century, this handbook has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. Harrisburg shelves the most recent edition in the "reference" area on the 1st floor of the library, and older editions on the 3rd floor.
Antenna Theory and Design by Call Number: TK7874.6.S79 2013ISBN: 9780470576649Publication Date: 2012-05-22Now in its 3rd edition, this is a standard resource for antenna design.
Measurement, Instrumentation, and Sensors Handbook, Second Edition by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781439848937Publication Date: 2012-10-01A 2-volume book that brings together all aspects of the design and implementation of measurement, instrumentation, and sensors. This volume deals with electromagnetic, optical, radiation, chemical, and biomedical sensors.
Microwave and RF Design by Call Number: REF TK6560.S75 2013ISBN: 9781613530214Publication Date: 2013-08-12A textbook updated to 4G and 5G cellular technologies. Includes 10 real world case studies, taking readers through the design process and the many pragmatic designs that must be made.
Power Electronics Basics by Call Number: TK7881.15.R69 2016ISBN: 9781482298796Publication Date: 2015-04-23Describes the power assemblies, control, and passive components of semiconductor power switches; the control of power electronic devices, from mathematical modeling to the analysis of the electrical processes; pulse-width modulation, power quality control, and multilevel, modular, and multicell power converter topologies; line-commutated and resonant converters, as well as inverters and AC converters based on completely controllable switches; and cutting-edge applications of power electronics.
Power Generation, Operation and Control by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781118733844Publication Date: 2013-09-23The definitive work on power systems best practices, this book provides a complete picture of the techniques used in modern power system operation.
Practical Electrical Wiring by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780971977983Publication Date: 2014-03-01Reviews the theory and practice of installing electrical wiring. A wealth of tips and handy tricks offered in a professional, down-to-earth style make this a favorite on-the-job resource.
Wiring Simplified by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780979294556Publication Date: 2014-07-15Covers everything from repairing a table lamp to wiring a whole house.
